Home > OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises > What are the NCPs?

What are the NCPs?


To ensure the effectiveness of the guidelines, the OECD Council adopted the ‘Decision of the Council on the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises’, therefore adhering countries must establish National Contact Points (NCPs) which will deal with tasks related to the implementation of the guidelines.

The Korean government, hereby, has enacted the ‘Regulations for the Implementation of OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises by National Contact Point’ in 2001 in accordance with the decision of the OECD Council and has established the Korean NCP (hereinafter "The NCP").


For the implementation of the OECD guidelines for multinational enterprises, the NCP performs the following functions:

Promotional activities :
The NCP provides the original text of the guidelines, Korean translations and other references. The NCP makes an effort to raise awareness of the guidelines for potential interested parties such as the business community, worker organizations and environmental organizations.

Dispute resolution related to the implementation of the guidelines:
Though the guidelines are non-binding and voluntary, parties concerned are able to file a complaint related to the implementation of the guidelines. The NCP will review the issues raised and offer assistance to help the parties resolve the issues.

Co-operation with other NCPs and Reporting to OECD :
The NCP will co-operate with other NCPs to resolve the issues raised. Also, the NCP will report its activities to OECD annually, and OECD will review the implementation activities of each NCP.


48 countries(2018.11)

국가연락사무소(NCP) 현황
Continent Nation
Asia Korea, Japan, Kazakhstan (3 nations)
Mideast Israel, Turkey, Jordan (3 nations)
Europe Greece, Norway, Denmark, Germany, Latvia, Rumania, Luxembourg, Lithuania , Belgium, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Iceland, Estonia , England, Austria, Italy, Czech, Portugal, Poland , France , Finland, Hungary, Ukraine (28 nations)
Africa Morocco, Egypt , Tunisia (3 nations)
Oceania New Zealand , Australia (2 nations)
North America the United States, Canada (2 nations)
South America Mexico, Brazil , Argentine, Chile, Colombia, Peru, CostaRica (7 nations)